The most popular social networking company WhatsApp has surprised its users by launching a new ”View Once” feature. This feature will allow its users to send photos and videos and the media will automatically be disappeared after viewing by the recipient.
View Once” feature is not a very new feature launched by Whatsapp as it has been offered by Snapchat from the beginning.
As the name suggests of the ”View Once” feature, shared media will be viewed once within the WhatsApp app. Photos and videos sent through this feature will be disappeared forever and from everywhere, therefore, users can not save, share and forward any media sent via the ”View Once” feature.
As per the report, WhatsApp confirmed that the ”View Once” feature will allow its users to send media which will be automatically self-destructed after being opened by the recipient.
And the company also added that any photos and videos which are shared through this View Once feature can not be saved by the recipient.
Apart from that, Whatsapp also said that if the photos and videos are shared via this View Once the feature is not opened within 14 days, it will be deleted automatically.
In addition to this, the Facebook-owned messaging app WhatsApp also asked its users to send the media through this feature to trusted contacts in order to secure their privacy where the recipient can not take a screenshot of the media sent via this feature.
There are reports which suggest that media can be shared using View Once feature on the WhatsApp Web app, the Desktop App, and on KaiOS.
Facebook also gave a statement regarding the View Once feature and said that “While taking photos or videos on our phones has become such a big part of our lives, not everything we share needs to become a permanent digital record. On many phones, simply taking a photo means it will take up space in your camera roll forever.” That’s why today we’re rolling out new View Once photos and videos that disappear from the chat after they’ve been opened, giving users, even more, control over their privacy,”
One of the biggest social networking company Facebook also gave an example related to this new Vie Once feature and said that “you might send a View Once a photo of some new clothes you’re trying on at a store, a quick reaction to a moment in time, or something sensitive like a Wi-Fi password. ”
In addition to this WhatsApp also disclosed that the new View Once feature will be protected by end-to-end encryption so that only the sender and the recipient can view it.
How to use View Once Feature:
If the users want to use View Once a feature, they first need to update their WhatsApp account to the latest version, after updating the Whatsapp app, users need to send photos and videos. For sharing any media through this new feature, users need to open individual or group chat, then add a photo or video. Users can send the media either through the camera icon or through the paperclip symbol available on their Android and iOS devices.
Now, users need to tap on the View Once icon which is located to the right of the text bar, then they have to click on the ”Send” button to share the media. Now, a symbol will come which is represented by the number one symbol along with a circle around and the green color that is related to WhatsApp, and half the circle is made up of dots.
However, when using the View Once feature, there is a caution which must be exercised as nothing can stop recipients from taking a screenshot and saving it on their smart devices. So, a thing that a WhatsApp user should always keep in mind while sending the media via this feature is that they should share View Once media only to trusted contacts.
It is a mystery why WhatsApp does not give a warning about the screenshot to the sender However, Snapchat notifies the screenshot and informs about it to senders, WhatsApp could have done the same.